Track 43: ’93 to Infinity by Souls of Mischief

I’m back!!!  Of course this blog will likely grow and evolve over time, I’ve got some new plans and a slightly new direction I want to take life : sanguine.  These tracks may not be every single day now, but I still plan to feature music heavily on here, including 8track and itunes playlists, so stay tuned.  Onward and upward!

It may come as a surprise, but this was seriously my jam in high school.  Not that I was in high school back in ’93, not even close.  But I was/am really into classic, old skool (yes, I just spelled that with a ‘k’… don’t even front) hip hop and this has to be one of my favorite tracks of all time.  The rhymes are just so damn smooth and the beat is practically hypnotic.  It reminds me of driving out to the [Teton] Village for a day of skiing; summer camping parties and getting stoned in my “boyfriend”‘s minivan.  Life was good for a high schooler in J-Hole.

Souls of Mischief, of Oakland’s infamous Hieroglyphics Crew, first came together in 1991 with ’93 to Infinity being their first collaborative product.  This is obviously the tittle track of this debut album which remains their most successful to date.   Although each member pursued other group and solo projects, they still came together periodically throughout the 90’s to produce albums.  After a 9 year hiatus, they came back in 2009 with Montezuma’s Revenge which was equal parts contemporary underground hip hop and an ode to their old school West coast hip hop heritage.  Plus, they will forever be endeared to my heart after namedropping my hometown in their last single, “Tour Stories”.  See if you can catch it below!

Leave a comment

June 12, 2013 · 2:10 pm

Leave a Reply

