Track 20: Let My People Go by Darondo

Soulful Sundays

One my roommates freshman year of college turned me on to Darondo and its her birthday today (Happy Birthday Amelia!).  Although I’d always been a fan of the classics (James Brown, etc.), I was just starting to get into soul more.  I’d seen Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings  play that fall and it turned me on to a whole new world of contemporary soul.  Darondo however spiked my interest in investigating the more underground historical soul scene.

Darondo, aka William Daron Pulliam, performed throughout the 1970’s in San Francisco, although he never managed to gain much recognition.  However, he garnered quite a cult following that has followed him for 25 years.  His music clearly channels Marvin Gaye and Al Green, with steady stream of falseto accompanied by smooth, sensual rhythms.   But he’s a lot more raw and kind of wonderfully grimey.  This is the title track off of a 2006 compilation of a variety of his 1970s tracks.

Leave a comment

Filed under Audible, Track of the Day

Leave a Reply

