Dreaming of: Taxco, Mexico

When I was a sophomore in high school I attended an international Model UN conference in Mexico City.  Afterwards I stayed behind and my mother and brother joined me for a bit of spring break exploration of the city and surrounding areas.  I loved Ciudad de Mexico, with its seamless fusion of elegant old world tradition, cutting edge contemporary culture and chaotic urbanization.  However, it was a small town just outside the city and up in the mountains called Taxco that truly captured my heart.  Apparently my late grandmother (the first real traveler of my family) explored Taxco during its heyday as the center of Mexico’s silver production and trade.  In fact one of the few things I inherited when she passed away years ago is a beautiful Mayan silver pin-turned-necklace that she picked up while there.  Later when my father was working in Mexico City in the 80’s he and my mother would take weekend trips up there when she visited.  So when we returned in 2005 it was truly a walk down memory lane for her.  Although the last silver mine will be closing soon, the town is still heavily associated with silver craftsmanship and roughly half of its residents still work with silver in some capacity.  As a visitor though, much of the appeal of visiting Taxco is in wandering through the narrow cobblestone streets through white Spanish shophouses that swell over the hilltops.

As you can see, its hard not to be charmed by la bonita y encantadora ciudad de Taxco

Taxco, Mexico by David Bank

Taxco, Mexico by David Bank

Plaza Borda y Templo de Santa Prisca by Jose Mazcona

Plaza Borda y Templo de Santa Prisca by Jose Mazcona

Secreto de amor by Domingo Mery

Secreto de amor by Domingo Mery

Untitled by Sam Grant

Untitled by Sam Grant

Leave a comment

Filed under Dream Travels

Leave a Reply

