Track 4: Waltz Limp by The Dave Brubeck Quartet

In a jazzy mood this morning… which seems to be a mid-week trend for me.  Perhaps I will make this a Jazz Wednesday theme for the Track of the Week.

Lately I’ve been listening to a lot of Dave Brubeck, as one tends to do after the loss of a great musical talent (ie. James Brown, Michael Jackson, Whitney Houston).  Both my father and paternal-grandmother are/were avid jazz fans and I grew up on the standards.  However, “Take Five” was the first jazz song that truly stuck with me and Time Out had to have been the first jazz album that I stole from my dad to listen to for hours on my CD player.  Waltz Limp is one of my favorite tracks.  First off, I love the rapid yet subtle beginning jazz solo and I especially love how Cole Porter is woven in later.  Brubeck was a revolutionary and with Paul Desmond he pushed progressive jazz into the mainstream.  As a composer, Brubeck’s work was both avant garde and accessible, a delicate balance that few jazz musicians manage to strike.

His death last December was a profound loss to the jazz community.  However, his legacy will undoubtedly live on.

Leave a comment

Filed under Audible, Track of the Day

Leave a Reply

